Nebraska Counties
Nebraska County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Nebraska Counties

There is ninety-three counties in state of Nebraska. Despite the fact that Sarpy County contained the oldest settlement in the state, it was one of the last lands along the river to be recognized by law. Finally, on February 1, 1857, the land "where the cities meet the country" was officially created.

Stanton County, Nebraska

Stanton County Education, Geography, and HistoryStanton County, Nebraska Courthouse

Stanton County is a county located in the state of Nebraska. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 6,129. Its county seat is Stanton. The county was formed in 1856 and later organized in 1867. It was first called Izard County until 1862, when it was renamed for Edwin M. Stanton, Secretary of War during the administration of President Abraham Lincoln.

Stanton County is part of the Norfolk, NE Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Stanton County Name

In 1856 the Territorial Legislature defined boundaries for what was to be called Izard County, in honor of Mark W. Izard who was Nebraska's territorial governor at the time. The county would remain unorganized for some time and in 1862 the county boundaries would be redefined. The legislative act which redefined the county's boundaries also changed the county's name to Stanton, after Edward M. Stanton, who served as Secretary of War under President Abraham Lincoln.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Stanton County History

Although Stanton County was officially created in 1862, it would not be formally organized until five years later when the first local election was conducted.

Early settlers in the county were of German heritage. As word spread of quality land being available for low prices, the county's population steadily increased along the Elkhorn River and the rolling hills that surround it. These settlers were determined to make a living off the land and soon large areas within the county's boundaries had been cultivated.

The first large-scale attempt at farming and livestock production came in 1867, when an entire township was purchased. It later became known as Township Farm and is credited with the early development of the county's agricultural base.

This population increase led to the need of a courthouse. After some controversy about where a county seat should be located, county commissioners directed that a temporary courthouse be built in the townsite of Stantonville, which was later shortened to Stanton. In May 1871 a contract was let and a 350-square-foot frame building was erected. Because of its small size, this first courthouse would be occupied only by the office of the county clerk.

In 1874 additional room was needed for the county to conduct its business. Efforts were begun to build a new courthouse, which opened that same year. This building would be used until 1976, when county officials moved in the present courthouse.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 431 square miles (1,120 km2), of which 428 square miles (1,110 km2) is land and 3.1 square miles (8.0 km2) (0.7%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Cuming County (east)
  • Colfax County (south)
  • Platte County (southwest)
  • Madison County (west)
  • Wayne County (north)


Nebraska Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge