Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Nevada Counties
Nevada County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Nevada Counties
There aresixteen Counties and one independent city in the state of Nevada. On November 25, 1861, the first Nevada Territorial Legislature established nine counties. Nevada was admitted to the Union on October 31, 1864 with eleven counties. In 1969, Ormsby County and Carson City were consolidated into a single municipal government known as Carson City.

Carson City, Nevada

Carson City, Nevada History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Carson City
Year Organized: 1861
Square Miles: 144
Court House:

201 N Carson Street
City Administrative Offices
Carson City, NV 89701-4264

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Namedfrom the Carson river, named by John C. Fremont, after his friend and scout Christopher "Kit" Carson (1809-1868).


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

November 25, 1861 - It is the smallest county in the state, 168 sq. mi. 12 of which are under water at Lake Tahoe. Originally named Ormsby in honor of Maj. William M. Ormsby, who came to the area in 1857, and later slain in the Pyramid Lake Indian War of 1860. Although the town was not regularly laid out until 1858, when Major Ormsby purchased the land and named the area Carson City. The name of the county was changed when Ormsby County was consolidated with Carson City in 1969. Ormsby is still remembered by Ormsby Boulevard and Ormsby House . Seat: Carson City. Carson City County, from Carson City, is named from the Carson river, named by John C. Frémont, after his friend and scout Christopher "Kit" Carson (1809-1868).

The Consolidated Municipality of Carson City, Nevada's territorial and state capital, has a rich and colorful frontier past. Carson City was founded as a community in 1858, seven years after the first settlement of Eagle Station trading post in 1851. Eagle Valley had been settled by ranchers. Carson City is named for the famous frontiersman and scout Christopher "Kit" Carson. During his 1843-1844 expedition, John C. Fremont had named Carson City's nearby river for Kit Carson, Fremont's scout. Pioneer Abraham Curry arrived in Eagle Valley in 1858 and soon thereafter surveyed and plotted a town site. A cadre of well-connected attorneys whose names still decorate street signs here (Proctor, Musser) bought the richest part of the valley for $500 and a herd of horses. The farsighted and optimistic Curry set aside 10 acres expressly for the construction of a capitol -- this was before the formation of Nevada Territory in 1861. Carson City was soon designated both the territorial capital and county seat of the new Ormsby County. President Abraham Lincoln, recognizing the importance of Nevada's silver and gold to the Union's Civil War effort, signed the proclamation that ushered Nevada into statehood on October 31, 1864. Carson City was selected as the state capital at the constitutional convention and has retained that honor to the present day. More History

Neighboring Counties:

  • Douglas County, Nevada – south
  • Lyon County, Nevada – east
  • Storey County, Nevada – northeast
  • Washoe County, Nevada – north
  • Placer County, California – west

Cities and Towns:

- Carson City (County Seat) city Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"