Colleges Search

Have you begun your college search? Find a college that's right for you. Acess over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US.

Begin Now!

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Nevada Counties
Nevada County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Nevada Counties

There aresixteen Counties and one independent city in the state of Nevada. On November 25, 1861, the first Nevada Territorial Legislature established nine counties. Nevada was admitted to the Union on October 31, 1864 with eleven counties. In 1969, Ormsby County and Carson City were consolidated into a single municipal government known as Carson City.
Search & Apply to New Jobs *

Lincoln County, Nevada

Lincoln County Education, Geography, and History

County Seat: Pioche
Year Organized: 1866
Square Miles: 10,635
Court House:

P.O. Box 90
County Courthouse
Pioche, NV 89043-0090

Etymology - Origin of County Name

It is named after Abraham Lincoln, the 16th President of the United States. Original legislation called for the creation of a "Stewart County", after Nevada Senator William M. Stewart, however this was later changed in a substitute bill. Crystal Springs was the county's first seat in 1866, followed by Hiko in 1867, and Pioche in 1871.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

February 25, 1866 - Once part of New Mexico territory, and once part of Arizona, was named in honor of Abraham Lincoln. Seat: Pioche, (1871) in honor of F. L. A. Pioche, a San Francisco banker/mine promoter.


According to the US Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 10,637 square miles (27,549 km2), of which, 10,634 square miles (27,541 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (8 km2) of it (0.03%) is water. While only the third largest county by area in the State of Nevada, it is seventh largest county in area in the entire United States, not including boroughs and census areas in Alaska.

Neighboring Counties:

  • White Pine County - north
  • Nye County - west
  • Clark County - south
  • Mohave County, Arizona - southeast
  • Washington County, Utah - east
  • Iron County, Utah - east
  • Beaver County, Utah - east
  • Millard County, Utah - northeast


Nevada Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"
Hunting for a new job? Get advice or search over 1.6 million jobs on the largest job site
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..

Find and Compare!

With access to over 8,500 schools to choose from!

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Search Jobs & Employment

Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s):

Enter a City:

Select a State:

Select a Category:

-- Advanced Job Search

-- Search by Company

Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools