Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Nevada Counties
Nevada County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Nevada Counties
There aresixteen Counties and one independent city in the state of Nevada. On November 25, 1861, the first Nevada Territorial Legislature established nine counties. Nevada was admitted to the Union on October 31, 1864 with eleven counties. In 1969, Ormsby County and Carson City were consolidated into a single municipal government known as Carson City.

Mineral County, Nevada

Mineral County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Hawthorne
Year Organized: 1911
Square Miles: 3,757
Court House:

P.O. Box 1450
County Courthouse
Hawthorne, NV 89415-1450

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Named for the many mineral deposits in the area.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Created out of northern Esmeralda County - February 10, 1911 - Named for the many mineral deposits in the area. Seat: Hawthorne, named for William Hawthorne, a rancher and early justice of the peace; served as constable in Carson City.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 3,813 square miles (9,876 kmē), of which, 3,756 square miles (9,729 kmē) of it is land and 57 square miles (146 kmē) of it (1.48%) is water.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Lyon County, Nevada - northwest
  • Churchill County, Nevada - north
  • Nye County, Nevada - northeast
  • Esmeralda County, Nevada - southeast
  • Mono County, California - southwest

Cities and Towns:

- Hawthorne (County Seat)

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"