Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Forsyth County, North Carolina

Forsyth County Education, Geography, and HistoryForsyth County, North Carolina Courthouse

Forsyth County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 350,670, making it the fourth-most populous county in North Carolina. Its county seat is Winston-Salem.

Forsyth County is included in the Winston-Salem, NC Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Greensboro-Winston-Salem-High Point, NC Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Forsyth County Name

It was named in honor of Colonel Benjamin Forsyth, a native of Stokes County who fell on the northern frontier in the second war with England.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Forsyth County History

Forsyth was formed in 1849 from Stokes. It was named in honor of Colonel Benjamin Forsyth, a native of Stokes County who fell on the northern frontier in the second war with England. It is in the central section of the State and is bounded by Guilford, Davidson, Davie, Yadkin, and Stokes counties. The present land area is 409.60 square miles and the 2000 population was 306,067. The act establishing the county ordered the first court to be held at the town hall of Salem, at which time the justices were to select a place for future courts until a courthouse could be erected. Commissioners were named to select a place for the public buildings, acquire the land, and lay out a town. In 1851 an act was passed naming the county seat Winston. In 1879 an act was passed authorizing that Winston and Salem be combined, provided the people voted for the same. In 1913 Winston and Salem were incorporated as one town and Winston-Salem became the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 413 square miles (1,070 km2), of which 408 square miles (1,060 km2) is land and 4.5 square miles (12 km2) (1.1%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Stokes County - north
  • Rockingham County - northeast
  • Guilford County - east
  • Davidson County - south
  • Davie County - southwest
  • Yadkin County - west
  • Surry County - northwest


North Carolina Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..
Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools