Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Macon County, North Carolina

Macon County Education, Geography, and HistoryMacon County, North Carolina Courthouse

Macon County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 33,922. Its county seat is Franklin.

Etymology - Origin of Macon County Name

It was named in honor of Nathaniel Macon, speaker of the House of Representatives, United States Senator, and president of the Constitutional Convention of 1835.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Macon County History

Macon was formed in 1828 from Haywood. It was named in honor of Nathaniel Macon, speaker of the House of Representatives, United States Senator, and president of the Constitutional Convention of 1835. It is in the western section of the State and is. bounded by the state of Georgia and Clay, Cherokee, Swain and Jackson counties. The present land area is 516.47 square miles and the 2000 population was 29,808. The first court was ordered to be held in the town of Franklin. Franklin is the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 520 square miles (1,300 km2), of which 516 square miles (1,340 km2) is land and 4.1 square miles (11 km2) (0.8%) is water.

Of the land in Macon County, 239.31 square miles (620 km2) (46.1%) are federal lands that lie within the Nantahala National Forest and are administered by the United States Forest Service. Of the 239.31 square miles (620 km2) of USFS land, 71.56 square miles (185 km2) lie in the Highlands Ranger District and the remaining 167.75 square miles (434 km2) lie in the Wayah Ranger District. The county's largest natural water supply is the Cullasaja River.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Swain County - north
  • Jackson County - east
  • Rabun County, Georgia - south
  • Clay County - southwest
  • Cherokee County - west
  • Graham County - northwest


Union Academy
Union Academy is an alternative public school in Macon County, North Carolina for grades 6 - 12. It is located near the South Macon Elementary school. Its name was changed from Union Alternative in 2006.

Macon Early College
Macon Early College is a high school that offers college classes located next to the greenway and public library of Franklin. Southwestern Community College (North Carolina) is a partner in the program. As of 2008, SCC was ranked 4th in the list of Americas best community colleges. Macon Early College is one of the three high schools in the Macon area, coming into existence after the Franklin High School but before the Union Academy.

North Carolina Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..
Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools