Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Moore County, North Carolina

Moore County Education, Geography, and HistoryMoore County, North Carolina Courthouse

Moore County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 88,247.Its county seat is Carthage and its largest town is Pinehurst.

Moore County comprises the Aberdeen- Pinehurst-Southern Pines, North Carolina Micropolitan Statistical Area and is sometimes included in the Research Triangle and Greater Raleigh-Durham CSA. It lies at the northern edge of the area known as the Sandhills region.

Etymology - Origin of Moore County Name

It was named in honor of Captain Alfred Moore of Brunswick. a soldier of the Revolution and afterwards a Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Moore County History

Moore was formed in 1784 from Cumberland. It was named in honor of Captain Alfred Moore of Brunswick. a soldier of the Revolution and afterwards a Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States. It is in the south central section of the State and is bounded by Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Scotland, Richmond, Montgomery, Randolph, Chatham and Lee counties. The present land area is 697.74 square miles and the 2000 population was 74,762. The act establishing the county provided for the erection of the public buildings. In 1795 an act was passed which stated that the location of the courthouse was inconvenient; it named commissioners to purchase land near the center of the county and erect a new courthouse. In 1796 an act was passed establishing Carthage on land where the courthouse was to stand. In 1803 an act was passed naming commissioners to lay out a town and build a courthouse as directed in the 1796 act. In 1806 Carthage was changed to Fagansville. In 1818, Fagansville was changed back to Carthage. Carthage is the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 706 square miles (1,830 km2), of which 698 square miles (1,810 km2) is land and 8.0 square miles (21 km2) (1.1%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Chatham County - north
  • Lee County - northeast
  • Harnett County - east
  • Cumberland County - southeast
  • Hoke County - southeast
  • Scotland County - south
  • Richmond County - southwest
  • Montgomery County - west
  • Randolph County - north


North Carolina Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..
Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer