Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Wisconsin Counties
Wisconsin County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Wisconsin Counties
There are 72 counties in the state of Wisconsin.

Ashland County, Wisconsin

Ashland County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Ashland
Year Organized: 1860
Square Miles: 1,044
Court House:

201 West Main Street, Room 301
County Courthouse
Ashland, WI 54806-1612

Etymology - Origin of County Name

The county was named after the village, which was named in honor of the Kentucky homestead of Henry Clay. Martin Beaser, one of the earliest settlers of the village, and an ardent admirer of Henry Clay, is credited with the selection of the name.

[Source: Place Names, p. 29; Hist. No. Wis., p.67. Kellogg, Louise Phelps. "Derivation of County Names" in Proceedings of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin for 1909, pages 219-231.]


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Ashland County, created in 1848 from previously unorganized territory, is named after Henry Clay's home in Kentucky. Located in northwest Wisconsin, the county seat is Ashland.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,294 square miles (5,941 kmē), of which, 1,044 square miles (2,703 kmē) of it is land and 1,250 square miles (3,237 kmē) of it (54.49%) is water.

Ashland County is anchored by the City of Ashland, on the southern shore of Lake Superior's Chequamegon Bay. Ashland's harbor, nestled in protected Chequamegon Bay.

Much of inland Ashland County is covered by the gently rolling terrain of the Chequamegon National Forest. With 411 lakes, 632 miles of rivers and streams, 200 miles of hiking trails, 200 miles of motorized trails, over 800 wetlands, nearly 11,000 acres of wilderness areas, 50 miles of cross-country ski trails and more than 300 miles of snowmobile trails.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Iron County – east
  • Price County – southeast
  • Sawyer County – southwest
  • Bayfield County – northwest

Cities and Towns:

- Agenda town
- Ashland (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Butternut village Incorporated Area
- Chippewa town
- Gingles town
- Jacobs town
- La Pointe town
- Marengo town
- Mellen city Incorporated Area
- Morse town
- Peeksville town
- Sanborn town
- Shanagolden town
- White River town

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"