California Counties
California County map
Click Image to Enlarge

California Counties

The state of California is divided into fifty-eight counties. On January 4, 1850, the California constitutional committee recommended the formation of 18 counties. They were Benicia, Butte, Fremont, Los Angeles, Mariposa, Monterey, Mount Diablo, Oro, Redding, Sacramento, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Jose, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Sonoma, and Sutter. The last California county to have been established is Imperial County in 1907.

El Dorado County, California

El Dorado County Education, Geography, and HistoryEl Dorado County, Califronia Courthouse

El Dorado County, officially the County of El Dorado, is a county located in the state of California. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 181,058. The county seat is Placerville. El Dorado County was established on February 18, 1850. This county was named for the meaning "the gilded one" in Spanish, El Dorado, a mythical city of gold, owing to the area's significance in the California Gold Rush.

El Dorado County is included in the Sacramento-Roseville-Arden-Arcade, CA Metropolitan Statistical Area. It is located in the historic Gold Country in the Sierra Nevada.

Etymology - Origin of El Dorado County Name

El Dorado - the far-famed outstanding region of friendly climate and never-fading vegetation, where gold and precious stones are as common as rocks and pebbles, where wines gently flow from fountains. The name, meaning "the gilded one" in Spanish, appears at the beginning of the 16th century as that of a mythical Indian chief who was said to have been covered with gold dust during the performance of religious rites. When the discovery of gold by James W. Marshall at Coloma in January 1848 became known to the world, California, and particularly that section where gold was discovered, was called "El Dorado." From this fact the county received its name.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

El Dorado County History

El Dorado County was one of the original counties of California, created at the time of statehood in 1850.

El Dorado County is a county located in the Gold Country of the state of California, in the Sierra Nevada. The county seat is Placerville.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,788 square miles (4,631 km2), of which, 1,711 square miles (4,431 km2) of it is land and 77 square miles (200 km2) of it (4.32%) is water.

The County's western boundary encompasses part of Folsom Lake, and the eastern boundary is also the California-Nevada State line. The northeast corner of the County is in the Lake Tahoe basin, while the rest of the County is in the "western slope,"the area west of Echo Summit.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • East: Douglas County, Nev.
  • Southeast: Alpine County
  • Southwest: Amador County; Sacramento County
  • Northwest: Placer County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge