California Counties
California County map
Click Image to Enlarge

California Counties

The state of California is divided into fifty-eight counties. On January 4, 1850, the California constitutional committee recommended the formation of 18 counties. They were Benicia, Butte, Fremont, Los Angeles, Mariposa, Monterey, Mount Diablo, Oro, Redding, Sacramento, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Jose, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Sonoma, and Sutter. The last California county to have been established is Imperial County in 1907.

San Joaquin County, California

San Joaquin County Education, Geography, and HistorySan Joaquin County, Califronia Courthouse

San Joaquin County is a county in the state of California. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 685,306. The county seat is Stockton. San Joaquin County was founded on February 18, 1850 as one of the original 27 counties . The county was named for the county takes its name from the San Joaquin River.

San Joaquin County comprises the Stockton-Lodi, CA Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the San Jose-San Francisco-Oakland, CA Combined Statistical Area. The county is located in the Central Valley, just east of the nine-county San Francisco Bay Area region.

Etymology - Origin of San Joaquin County Name

The county takes its name from the San Joaquin River. In the early 1800s Lieutenant Moraga, commanding an expedition in the lower great Central Valley of California, gave the name of San Joaquin (meaning Saint Joachim) to a rivulet that springs from the Sierra Nevada mountains and empties into Buena Vista Lake.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

 San Joaquin County History

San Joaquin County is a county located in Central Valley of the state of California, just east of the San Francisco Bay Area. The county seat is Stockton.

San Joaquin County was one of the original counties of California, created in 1850 at the time of statehood.

The county takes its name from the San Joaquin River.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,426 square miles (3,694 km2), of which, 1,399 square miles (3,624 km2) of it is land and 27 square miles (70 km2) of it (1.89%) is water.

The San Joaquin River is the second longest river in California. It drains the largest watershed area (32,000 square miles) in the state. Fed by the melting snow of the High Sierra, the Middle Fork of the San Joaquin begins in the extremely scenic Ansel Adams Wilderness and passes by Devil's Postpile, a national monument. It flows west out of the mountain range and into the San Joaquin Valley. The San Joaquin River flows through a spectacular gorge encompassing more than 6,000 acres of public land.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Sacramento County
  • Northeast: Amador County; Calaveras County
  • Southeast: Stanislaus County
  • Southwest: Santa Clara County; Alameda County
  • West: Contra Costa County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge