California Counties
California County map
Click Image to Enlarge

California Counties

The state of California is divided into fifty-eight counties. On January 4, 1850, the California constitutional committee recommended the formation of 18 counties. They were Benicia, Butte, Fremont, Los Angeles, Mariposa, Monterey, Mount Diablo, Oro, Redding, Sacramento, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Jose, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Sonoma, and Sutter. The last California county to have been established is Imperial County in 1907.

San Luis Obispo County, California

San Luis Obispo County Education, Geography, and HistorySan Luis Obispo County, Califronia Courthouse

San Luis Obispo County, officially the County of San Luis Obispo, is a county located in the state of California. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 269,637. The county seat is San Luis Obispo. The county was created February 18, 1850. In 1772, the Mission San Luis Obispo was established here by Padre Junipero Serra and the county is named for Saint Luis, the Bishop of Toulouse.

San Luis Obispo County (locally, SLO County) comprises the San Luis Obispo-Paso Robles-Arroyo Grande, CA Metropolitan Statistical Area. The county is located along the Pacific Ocean in Central California, between Los Angeles and the San Francisco Bay Area.

Etymology - Origin of San Luis Obispo County Name

 In 1772, the Mission San Luis Obispo was established here by Padre Junipero Serra and the county is named for Saint Luis, the Bishop of Toulouse.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

San Luis Obispo County History

San Luis Obispo County was one of the original counties of California, created in 1850 at the time of statehood.

The prehistory of San Luis Obispo County is strongly influenced by the Chumash people who had important settlement here at least as early as the Millingstone Horizon thousands of years before present. Settlements existed, for example, in many coastal areas such as Morro Bay and Los Osos.

The entrance lobby and belfry of the Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa. A statue of Fray Junípero Serra stands outside the church. Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa was founded on September 1, 1772 in the area that is now the city of San Luis Obispo.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 3,616 square miles (9,364 km2), of which, 3,304 square miles (8,558 km2) of it is land and 311 square miles (806 km2) of it (8.61%) is water.

The city of San Luis Obispo is surrounded  by a chain of trail-scratched Morros, long-dormant volcanoes that extend to the rolling Santa Lucia Range and the Pacific coast.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Kings County
  • East: Kern County
  • Southeast: Santa Barbara County
  • West: North Pacific Ocean
  • Northwest: Monterey County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge