California Counties
California County map
Click Image to Enlarge

California Counties

The state of California is divided into fifty-eight counties. On January 4, 1850, the California constitutional committee recommended the formation of 18 counties. They were Benicia, Butte, Fremont, Los Angeles, Mariposa, Monterey, Mount Diablo, Oro, Redding, Sacramento, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Jose, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Sonoma, and Sutter. The last California county to have been established is Imperial County in 1907.

Trinity County, California

Trinity County Education, Geography, and HistoryTrinity County, Califronia Courthouse

Trinity County is a county located in the northwestern portion of the state of California. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 13,786, making it the fourth-least populous county in California. The county seat and largest community is Weaverville. The county was created February 18, 1850. Trinity county is named from the Trinity River, which was named by Major Pearson B. Reading who was under the mistaken impression that the stream emptied into Trinidad Bay.

Etymology - Origin of Trinity County Name

The county takes its name from the Trinity River, named in 1845 by Major Pearson B. Reading, who was under the mistaken impression that the stream emptied into Trinidad Bay. Trinity is the English version of Trinidad.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Trinity County History

Trinity County was one of the original counties of California, created in 1850 at the time of statehood. Parts of the county were given to Klamath County in 1852 and to Humboldt County in 1853. Klamath County ceased to exist in 1874 after it was dissolved due to corruption and widespread electoral fraud.

Following an act of the Legislature, approved May 28, 1851, this county, then including also what is now Humboldt, was publicly freed from Shasta tutelage, and five commissioners appointed by the act to superintend the election; but none of these were from what is now Trinity County. The first officers elected were: Dr. Johnson Price, Judge; William Cunningham, District Attorney; John C. Burch, Clerk; William H. Dixon, Sheriff; J. W. McGee, Assessor; Thomas L. Ball, Treasurer.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 3,208 square miles (8,307 km2), of which, 3,179 square miles (8,233 km2) of it is land and 29 square miles (75 km2) of it (0.90%) is water.

The county contains a significant portion of Shasta-Trinity National Forest, home to the Trinity Alps. The summers tend to be clear, sunny, warm, and very dry, with little rain from June to September except for some mountain thunderstorms in the highest elevations.  There is an extensive wild river & stream system, and the terrain is quite rugged & forested, with the highest points at around 9,000 ft (2,700 m) The Klamath Mountains occupy the vast portion of the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Siskiyou County
  • East: Shasta County
  • Southeast: Tehama County
  • South: Mendocino County
  • West: Humboldt County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge