Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Chautauqua County, Kansas

Chautauqua County Education, Geography, and HistoryChautauqua County, Kansas Courthouse

Chautauqua County is a county located in Southeast Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 3,669.  Chautauqua County was created on March 25, 1875. The county seat and most populous city is Sedan.The county is named for Chautauqua County, New York, from which many early settlers hailed and the birthplace of Edward Jaquins, a member of the Kansas House who in 1875 introduced the bill dividing Howard County into Elk and Chautauqua. The New York county, in turn, derives its name from an Indian word meaning "foggy place." .

Etymology - Origin of Chautauqua County Name

The county was created out of a portion of what was first Godfrey county, named after "Bill" Godfrey, a noted trader among the Osages; then Howard county in honor of Major-General O. O. Howard, for his efforts in behalf of the Union. Chautauqua county New York, was the former home of Honorable Edward Jaquins, a member of the Kansas Legislature in 1875 from Howard county, who introduced the bill which divided Howard into Chautauqua and Elk; hence, from his native place this county derives its name. The name originally given (in 1855) to Howard was Godfrey, and the name changed to Seward in 1861. In 1867, the Legislature, ignoring former names, created the county of Howard.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Chautauqua County History

The incorporation of Chautauqua county was provided for by act of the legislature, to take effect June 1, 1875, and Sedan was designated as the county seat.

Chautauqua County, formerly the southern half of Howard county, is located in the southern tier of counties and is the fourth west from the Missouri line. It is bounded on the north by Elk county, on the east by Montgomery county, on the south by the State of Oklahoma, and on the west by Cowley county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 645 square miles (1,670 km2), of which 639 square miles (1,660 km2) is land and 5.9 square miles (15 km2) (0.9%) is water.

Chautauqua county is located in southeast Kansas. The county is level in the northern part and hilly toward the south. The streams are many with the watersheds bearing toward the south. The three important branches of Caney creek- Big Caney, Middle Caney and North Caney- are the larger streams. Salt and Bee creeks in the northeastern portion are next in importance.

Natural products of the county are sandstone of first-rate quality for paving and building, limestone. and marble is found in the hills about Sedan. There are also a number of gas wells. Coal has been found along the streams. Chautauqua county is one of the leading oil producing counties of the state, thousands of barrels of oil being carried out daily by the pipe lines.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Elk County
  • East: Montgomery County
  • Southeast: Washington County, Okla.
  • South: Osage County, Okla.
  • West: Cowley County

Cities and Towns:


Unified School Districts

Cedar Vale USD 285
Sedan USD 286

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge