Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Cloud County, Kansas

Cloud County Education, Geography, and HistoryCloud County, Kansas Courthouse

Cloud County is a county located in the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 9,533.  Cloud County was created on February 27, 1860. The county seat and most populous city is Concordia. The county is named in honor of William F. Cloud, Union General in the American Civil War who chiefly fought in Kansas and Missouri.

Etymology - Origin of Cloud County Name

The county was originally named for Governor William Shirley, colonial Governor of Massachusetts from 1741 to 1756. The name was changed to Cloud in 1867 in honor of Colonel William F. Cloud, of the Second Regiment, Kansas Volunteers.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Cloud County History

Cloud County, located just west of the 6th principal meridian, in the second tier of counties south of Nebraska, was created out of unorganized territory by the act of Feb. 27. 1860. The county was originally named for Governor William Shirley, colonial Governor of Massachusetts from 1741 to 1756. On Feb. 26, 1867, the name was changed to Cloud in honor of William F. Cloud, colonel of the Second Kansas cavalry.

It is bounded on the north by Republic county; on the east by Washington and Clay; on the south by Ottawa; on the west by Jewell and Mitchell, and has an area of 720 square miles.

On Feb. 4, 1865, the boundary lines of Washington county were extended to include the counties of Shirley and Republic, provided, "however, that at any time in the future, when the territory now comprised either in the county of Shirley and (or) Republic shall contain the number of inhabitants that shall entitle them to a county organization, they shall he authorized to organize and become a distinct county."

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 718 square miles (1,860 km2), of which 715 square miles (1,850 km2) is land and 2.6 square miles (6.7 km2) (0.4%) is water.

Cloud county is located in northeast Kansas. The northern part of the county water comes from the Republican river and its streams. The southern portion water comes from the Solomon river, which flows in a southeasterly direction across the southwest corner. In the northeastern part of the county there are several salt springs and marshes. Coal is found near the center of the county, south of the Republican river, and is mined to some extent for local use. Plenty of good quality magnesium limestone found in this county. Good building stone is quarried in the vicinity of Concordia. Potter's clay is abundant in all portions of the county, and these deposits have been significantly worked in the northeast portion.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Republic County
  • Northeast: Washington County
  • Southeast: Clay County
  • South: Ottawa County
  • West: Mitchell County
  • Northwest: Jewell County


Unified School Districts

Concordia USD 333
Concordia Junior-Senior High School
Concordia Middle School
Southern Cloud County USD 334
Clifton-Clyde USD 224

Colleges and Universities

Cloud County Community College


Miltonvale Wesleyan College (closed 1972)
Concordia Normal School (closed 1876)
Concordia Business College (closed sometime after 1930)

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.


County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge