Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Kingman County, Kansas

Kingman County Education, Geography, and HistoryKingman County, Kansas Courthouse

Kingman County is a county located in the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 7,858. Kingman County was created on March 07, 1872. The county seat is Kingman. The county is named in honor of Samuel A. Kingman (1818-1904), who was then Chief Justice of Kansas.

Kingman County is included in the Wichita, KS Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Kingman County Name

The county is named in honor of Samuel A. Kingman, member of the Wyandotte Constitutional Convention, chief justice of the Kansas supreme court, briefly state librarian, and first president of the Kansas State Historical Society.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Kingman County History

Kingman County was created after Governor Osborne received a somewhat questionable petition claiming that the county had over 600 settlers. The town and the county were named for Samuel A. Kingman, early president of the Kansas Bar Association and Chief Justice of the state supreme court as well as first president of the Kansas State Historical Society.

Highway 54 is officially designated as the Cannonball Stageline Highway from the east edge of Kingman thru Greensburg--so named for the colorful stagecoach driver who ran the Cannon Ball Stage Line beginning originally in Wichita, moved westward to Kingman, and from there on westward ahead of the railroads. Without him and other stage lines, western Kansas would have been settled much slower.

Clyde Cessna built a monoplane on his farm near Rago in 1910.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 867 square miles (2,250 km2), of which 863 square miles (2,240 km2) is land and 3.3 square miles (8.5 km2) (0.4%) is water.

 Kingman county is located close to the center of Kansas. The county is rolling prairie somewhat broken in the vicinity of the Ninnescah. Cottonwood is the principal timber and is found along the Chikaskia. An outstanding water system is formed by the two branches of the Chikaskia. The south branch of the Chikaskia enters the county near the southwest corner and flows east 15 miles, where it unites with the north branch forming the main stream, which leaves the county near the southeast corner. The south fork of the Ninnescah enters on the west line north of the center, crosses in a southeasterly direction past Kingman, and leaves the county near the central part of the east line. Sandstone, rock salt, gypsum and mineral paint are found in large quantities.


Much of Kingman county is grassland covering red sand. The South Fork of the Ninnescah river winds its way across the north part of the county and the Chikaskia River crosses the southern part. Tradition has it that there was only one tree in the county when it was founded; early settlers planted windbreaks that are magnificent now. The heart of this county is the huge Byron Walker game preserve and public hunting area. Cheney Lake touches the northeastern corner of the county and the state lake is near Calista in the center.

Highway US-54 crosses the heart of Kingman County, going east to Wichita and west to Pratt. K-42 also crosses the county from east to west. Highways K-14 and K-17 go north-south and K-2 cuts across the southeastern corner. Wichita's 21st Street winds around the dam at Cheney Lake, and runs across northern part of the county, joining Mt. Vernon, Varner, and Penalosa.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Reno County (north)
  • Sedgwick County (east)
  • Sumner County (southeast)
  • Harper County (south)
  • Barber County (southwest)
  • Pratt County (west)


Unified School Districts

USD 331 Kingman - Norwich
USD 332 Cunningham - West Kingman County

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge