Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Marion County, Kansas

Marion County Education, Geography, and HistoryMarion County, Kansas Courthouse

Marion County is a county located in the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 12,660.  Marion County was created on August 30, 1855. The county seat is Marion. The county is named in honor of Francis Marion, a Brigadier General of the American Revolutionary War, known as the "Swamp Fox".

Etymology - Origin of Marion County Name

The county is named for Marion county, Ohio which was so-called in memory of General Francis Marion, of revolutionary fame.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Marion County History

Marion County, which at one time covered more than a third of the area of Kansas, including all the territory in the state south and west of the present northern and eastern lines of the county, is located midway between the northern and southern boundaries of the state, and is in the first tier of counties west of the 6th principal meridian. It is bounded on the north by Dickinson and Morris counties; on the east by Morris and Chase; on the south by Butler and Harvey, and on the west by Harvey and McPherson. The original location of the county was fixed by legislative act in 1860. It comprised less than the present area. The original boundaries were altered by an increase of territory on the west and a decrease on the seat.[sic] In 1863 the legislature by special act fixed the boundaries to include all of southwestern Kansas. In June of that year, on petition of the citizens of the county, the governor restored the previous boundaries and ordered a separate organization of the county. There were 162 inhabitants at that time, and but 200 acres of land under cultivation. Under the name of Marion township the county had been attached to Chase county for judicial purposes since 1862.

Francis Marion (1732-1795), "The Swamp Fox", was a South Carolina hero of the Revolutionary War.

The Santa Fe trail crossed Marion county and there are many markers and traces to be found. A few miles west of Lost Springs is the site of the old Lost Spring on the Santa Fe trail. The famous Cottonwood Crossing was near Durham and the ruts of the great wagons can still be seen there.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 954 square miles (2,470 km2), of which 944 square miles (2,440 km2) is land and 9.4 square miles (24 km2) (1.0%) is water.

Marion county is located close to the center of Kansas. The county is located in the Great Plains, and the eastern part of the county is part of the Flint Hills. Marion county is one of the beauty spots of Kansas. The main branch of the Cottonwood river rises in the northwestern part and flows southeast to Marion. Springs are plentiful throughout the county, some of them containing minerals in medicinal quantities. The county is somewhat broken and hilly in the east and a gently rolling prairie in the west. timber consist of cottonwood, hackberry, elm, oak, walnut, box-elder, sycamore, honey-locust, coffee-bean and mulberry. Gypsum and magnesian limestone are plentiful.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Dickinson County (north)
  • Morris County (northeast)
  • Chase County (east)
  • Butler County (southeast)
  • Harvey County (southwest)
  • McPherson County (west)
  • Saline County (northwest)


Unified School Districts

  • USD 397, Centre - Students in Lincolnville, Lost Springs, Pilsen, Tampa, Ramona, Antelope, rural areas; Centre High School, in rural area between Lincolnville and Lost Springs
  • USD 398, Peabody-Burns - Students in Peabody, Burns, Wonsevu, rural areas; Peabody-Burns Junior/Senior High School, in Peabody
  • USD 408, Marion - Students in Marion, Florence, Eastshore, Canada, Aulne, Marion County Lake, rural areas; Marion High School, in Marion
  • USD 410, Hillsboro - Students in Hillsboro, Lehigh, Durham, rural areas; Hillsboro High School, in Hillsboro
  • USD 411, Goessel - Students in Goessel, rural areas
    Goessel High School, in Goessel


  • Tabor College, in Hillsboro
  • Butler Community College (remote campus), in Marion

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge