Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Morton County, Kansas

Morton County Education, Geography, and HistoryMorton County, Kansas Courthouse

Morton County is a county located in the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 3,233. Kansas County was created in 1873 and was reestablished as Morton County in February 20, 1886. The county seat is Elkhart. The county is named in honor of Oliver P. Morton, Governor of Indiana.

Etymology - Origin of Morton County Name

The county is named in honor of Honorable Oliver P. Morton, Governor of Indiana and prominent anti-slavery advocate.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Morton County History

Morton County, in the extreme southwest corner of the state, is bounded on the north by Stanton county; on the east by Stevens; on the south by the State of Oklahoma, and on the west by the State of Colorado. It comprises the territory defined as Kansas county in 1873, except that it extends 3 miles further east. The boundaries were defined in Feb., 1886, by the legislature as follows: "Commencing at the intersection of the section line 3 miles east of the west line of range 39 west with the 6th standard parallel; thence south along said section line to where it intersects the south boundary line of the State of Kansas; thence west along said boundary line to the southwest corner of the State of Kansas; thence north along the west boundary line of the State of Kansas to where it intersects the 6th standard parallel; thence east to the place of beginning."

Morton was constructed out of territory belonging to Seward county, and was organized in 1886.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 730 square miles (1,900 km2), of which 730 square miles (1,900 km2) is land and 0.2 square miles (0.52 km2) (0.03%) is water.

 Morton county is located in southwest Kansas. The county is rolling prairie, the soil is dark yellow color. Bottom lands make up 10 per cent. of the area. Native timber is scarce. Both forks of the Cimarron river flow northeast through the county. Limestone, sandstone and gypsum exist in several places, and there are many salt marshes found in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Stanton County (north)
  • Stevens County (east)
  • Texas County, Oklahoma (south)
  • Cimarron County, Oklahoma (southwest)
  • Baca County, Colorado (west)


Unified School Districts

Rolla USD 217
Elkhart USD 218

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge