Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Nemaha County, Kansas

Nemaha County Education, Geography, and HistoryNemaha County, Kansas Courthouse

Nemaha County is a county located in the northeastern part of the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 10,178. Nemaha County was created on August 25, 1855. The county seat is Seneca. The county is named in honor of Nemaha River, which passes through the county.

Etymology - Origin of Nemaha County Name

The county is named from a river in Nebraska--the Nemaha, one of whose branches drains the northern half of the county.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Nemaha County History

Nemaha County, the third west from the Missouri river in the northern tier, was one of the original 33 counties created by the first territorial legislature in 1855, and one of the 19 counties to be organized in that year. It is bounded on the north by the State of Nebraska; on the east by Brown county; on the south by Jackson and Pottawatomie counties, and on the west by Marshall county.

It is claimed by some historians that Nemaha was included in the region visited by Coronado and that he reached its northern boundary in Aug., 1851, but it is probable that the first expedition to cross the county was in 1842 when Fremont made his journey across the continent. His route entered the county on the east line, south of the present town of Sabetha, extended northwest to Baker's ford, turned south, passing near the place where Seneca now stands, thence northwest again and crossed the county line near the present village of Clear Creek. This road was used by the Mormons in the early '40s and by the California gold-seekers in 1849, later becoming the military road used by the government troops moving westward.

Nemaha county took its name from the river, which in Indian language means "no papoose," indicating the malicious character of the climate at that time.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 719 square miles (1,863 km2), of which, 718 square miles (1,860 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (4 km2) of it (0.20%) is water.

Nemaha county is located in northeast Kansas.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Richardson County, Nebraska (northeast)
  • Brown County (east)
  • Jackson County (southeast)
  • Pottawatomie County (southwest)
  • Marshall County (west)
  • Pawnee County, Nebraska (northwest)


Unified School Districts

Prairie Hills USD 113 - Bern, Sabetha, Wetmore, (Axtell and Summerfield in Marshall County). USD 441 and USD 488 merged to create USD 113 in 2010.
Nemaha Central USD 115 - Baileyville, Seneca, St. Benedict. USD 442 and USD 451 merged to create USD 115 in 2011.
Vermillion USD 380 - Centralia, (Frankfort in Marshall County)

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge