Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Neosho County, Kansas

Neosho County Education, Geography, and HistoryNeosho County, Kansas Courthouse

Neosho County is a county located in the south east of the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 16,512. Dorn County was created on August 25, 1855 and the name was changed to Neosho County on June 03, 1861. The county seat is Erie. The county is named for the Neosho River, which passes through the county.

Etymology - Origin of Neosho County Name

The county was originally called Dorn (see Labette), and changed in 1861 to Neosho, after the river which traverses the county from northwest to southeast. The name was given to the river by the Osages.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Neosho County History

Neosho County, in the southeastern part of the state, is located in the second tier of counties from Missouri, and the second from Oklahoma on the south. It is bounded on the north by Allen county; on the east by Bourbon and Crawford; on the south by Labette, and on the west by Wilson. It was founded from the northern part of Dorn county (q. v.), which was changed to Neosho, by the first state territorial legislature in 1861. The actual organization of the county was in 1864. In 1866 the boundaries were fixed to include the territory of what is now Neosho and Labette counties. In 1867 it was diminished by the territory included in Labette county. It took its present boundaries in 1870.

The lands of Neosho county were occupied by the Osage Indians until the treaty of 1865, and were known as the "Osage Ceded Lands."

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 578 square miles (1,500 km2), of which 571 square miles (1,480 km2) is land and 6.3 square miles (16 km2) (1.1%) is water.

 Neosho county is located in east Kansas. The county of Neosho is a gently rolling prairie, about 20 per cent. bottom land, which is along the Neosho river. There is an plenty of native timber.  The Neosho, the principal stream, enters in the northeast and flows southwest through the county. Limestone and sandstone of a excellent quality are found in abundance. A stone resembling black marble has been found near Erie. Brick clay is abundant.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Allen County (north)
  • Bourbon County (northeast)
  • Crawford County (east)
  • Labette County (south)
  • Montgomery County (southwest)
  • Wilson County (west)
  • Woodson County (northwest)


Unified School Districts

Erie-Galesburg USD 101 serves the communities of Erie, Galesburg, Stark.
Cherokee USD 247 serves primarily portions of Crawford and Cherokee counties, but also includes small portions of Labette and Neosho counties.
Chanute USD 413
Chetopa-St. Paul USD 505
Cherryvale-Thayer USD 447

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge