Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Ness County, Kansas

Ness County Education, Geography, and HistoryNess County, Kansas Courthouse

Ness County  is a county located in the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 3,107. Ness County was created on February 26, 1867. The county seat is Ness City. The county is named for Corporal Noah V. Ness of the 7th Kansas Cavalry.

Etymology - Origin of Ness County Name

The county is named in honor of Noah V. Ness, corporal of Company G, Seventh Kansas Cavalry, who died Aug. 24, 1864, at Abbeyville, Miss., of wounds received in action, August 19, 1864.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Ness County History

Ness County, in the central part of the western half of the state, is the fifth county from Colorado, the fourth south from Nebraska, and the fourth from the Oklahoma line. It is bounded on the north by Trego and Gove counties; on the east by Rush and Pawnee; on the south by Hodgeman, and on the west by Lane. It was created in 1867 and named for Noah V. Ness of the Seventh Kansas cavalry. The boundaries were defined as follows: "Commencing where the east line of range 21 west intersects the 3d standard parallel, thence south to the 4th standard parallel, thence west to the east line of range 26 west, thence north to the 3d standard parallel, thence east to the place of beginning." The legislature of 1873 changed the western boundary so that it extended to the east line of range 27 west, thus adding 180 square miles and making the area 1,080 square miles.

On May 29, 2000, a bronze, life-sized, statue of Corporal Ness was unveiled - it resides on the courthouse lawn.

George Washington Carver homesteaded near Beeler and built himself a sod house. Two years later he sold the farm for money to go to college with. There's an historical marker beside K-96 and a stone monument on his homestead.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,075 square miles (2,780 km2), of which 1,075 square miles (2,780 km2) is land and 0.3 square miles (0.78 km2) (0.02%) is water.

 Ness county is located in west Kansas. The county is nearly level, the rise from the streams being so gradual that the bottom lands are not clearly defined. Timber consist of ash, cottonwood, elm, hackberry and box-elder. Walnut creek, the principal stream, flows east through the center of the county, its north and south forks joining near the center. The Pawnee fork of the Pawnee river enters on the south central border. Magnesian limestone of excellent quality and sandstone are plentiful. Gypsum exists in small quantities.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Trego County (north)
  • Ellis County (northeast)
  • Rush County (east)
  • Pawnee County (southeast)
  • Hodgeman County (south)
  • Finney County (southwest)
  • Lane County (west)
  • Gove County (northwest)


Unified School Districts

Western Plains USD 106
Ness City USD 303
LaCrosse USD 395, mostly in Rush County

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge