Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Osborne County, Kansas

Osborne County Education, Geography, and HistoryOsborne County, Kansas Courthouse

Osborne County is a county located in the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 3,858. Osborne County was created on February 26, 1867. The county seat is Osborne. The county is named in honor of Private Vincent B. Osborne, of Company A, 2nd Kansas Cavalry, Union soldier and Civil War hero.

Etymology - Origin of Osborne County Name

The county is named in honor of Vincent B. Osborne, Private of Company A, Second Kansas Cavalry, who lost his right leg January 17, 1865, on the steamer Anna Jacobs on the Arkansas River.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Osborne County History

Osborne County, in the central part of the state east and west, is located in the second tier from the Nebraska line. It is bounded on the north by Smith and Jewell counties; on the east by Mitchell and Lincoln; on the south by Russell and Ellis, and on the west by Rooks county. It was named in honor of Vincent Osborne, a soldier of the Second Kansas cavalry, who was distinguished for his courage in the Civil war, and who in 1867 settled at Ellsworth, Ellsworth county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 894 square miles (2,320 km2), of which 893 square miles (2,310 km2) is land and 1.9 square miles (4.9 km2) (0.2%) is water.

 Osborne county is located close to the center of Kansas. The surface is rolling and consists mostly of prairies. The county is intersected by the south fork of Solomon River.  Medicine Peak, in the eastern part and Round Mound in the southwest, are the most important heights. Bottom lands make up 20 per cent of the total area. Native timber is not abundant. The two branches of the Solomon river and their branches form the water system. The north fork enters from Smith county and flows southeast across the northeast corner. The south fork enters in the west from Rooks county and flows east. An abundance of limestone, sandstone, potter's clay and gypsum are found in this county.

The geodetic center of North America is located within the county. The geographic center of the 48 contiguous states is located in neighboring Smith County.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Smith County (north)
  • Jewell County (northeast)
  • Mitchell County (east)
  • Lincoln County (southeast)
  • Russell County (south)
  • Ellis County (southwest)
  • Rooks County (west)


Unified School Districts

Waconda USD 272
Osborne USD 392
Natoma-Paradise-Waldo USD 399

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge