Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Phillips County, Kansas

Phillips County Education, Geography, and HistoryPhillips County, Kansas Courthouse

Phillips County is a county located in the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 5,642. Phillips County was created on February 26, 1867. The county seat is Phillipsburg. The county is named in honor of William Phillips, state legislator who pushed for creation of the county, and later United States Representative.

Etymology - Origin of Phillips County Name

The county is named in memory of William Phillips, a Free-State martyr, murdered September 1, 1856, in Leavenworth.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Phillips County History

Phillips County, one of the northern tier, is the 5th county east from the Colorado line. It is bounded on the north by the State of Nebraska; on the east by Smith county; on the south by Rooks, and on the west by Norton. This county was created in 1867 and named in honor of William Phillips, a free-state martyr who was murdered at Leavenworth in 1856. The boundaries were defined as follows: "Commencing where the east line of range 16 west intersects the 40th degree of north latitude; thence south to the 1st standard parallel; thence vest to the east line of range 21 west, thence north to the 40th degree of north latitude; thence east to the place of beginning."

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 895 square miles (2,320 km2), of which 886 square miles (2,290 km2) is land and 8.7 square miles (23 km2) (1.0%) is water.

 Phillips county is located in northwest Kansas. The county is gently rolling prairie, with limestone bluffs on the south sides of the principal streams. The bottom lands make up about 15 per cent. of the area. The timber consist of all the principal varieties of wood native to the soil of the state. The north fork of the Solomon river enters on the western boundary. Prairie Dog creek flows across the northwest corner. Magnesian limestone, potter's clay and clay for brick exist in commercial quantities. A bed of fine sand, suitable for glass making, exists in the east, and gypsum has been found in the south and northwest.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Harlan County, Nebraska (north)
  • Franklin County, Nebraska (northeast)
  • Smith County (east)
  • Rooks County (south)
  • Graham County (southwest)
  • Norton County (west)


Unified School Districts

Thunder Ridge USD 110 (Consolidation of Agra-Eastern Heights and Kensington-West Smith County)
Northern Valley USD 212
Phillipsburg USD 325
Logan USD 326

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge