Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Rush County, Kansas

Rush County Education, Geography, and HistoryRush County, Kansas Courthouse

Rush County is a county located in the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 3,307. Rush County was created on February 26, 1867. The county seat is La Crosse. The county is named in honor of Alexander Rush, captain of Company H, 2nd Kansas Colored Infantry.

Etymology - Origin of Rush County Name

The county is named for Alexander Rush, Captain of Company H, Second Colored Infantry, killed April 30, 1864 at Jenkins Ferry, Arkansas.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Rush County History

Rush County, west of the central part of the state, is the fifth county north from Oklahoma, the fourth south from Nebraska, and the sixth east from the west line of the state. It is bounded on the north by Ellis county; on the east by Barton; on the south by Pawnee, and on the west by Ness. It was named in honor of Capt. Alexander Rush, who was killed at Jenkins' Ferry, Ark. The boundaries were described in the creative act as follows: "Commencing where the east line of range 16 west crosses the 3d standard parallel; thence south to the 4th standard parallel; then west to the east line of range 21 west; thence north to the 3d standard parallel; thence east to the place of beginning." By an act of the legislature in 1873, the southern tier of townships was taken off and the present boundaries established.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 718 square miles (1,860 km2), of which 718 square miles (1,860 km2) is land and 0.2 square miles (0.52 km2) (0.03%) is water.

 Rush county is located close to the center of Kansas. The county is tillable prairie. Bottom lands make up about 20 per cent. of the area. Rush county is crossed by Walnut Creek, a tributary of the Arkansas River, and watered by other streams. Walnut creek, the principal stream, flows from west to east, somewhat south of the center. Big Timber creek in the northwest flows northeast and empties into the Smoky Hill river. Timber consist of ash, elm, cottonwood, walnut, hackberry and box-elder.  Magnesium limestone is common. Shell-rock limestone, potter's clay and gypsum are found in parts o the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Ellis County (north)
  • Russell County (northeast)
  • Barton County (east)
  • Pawnee County (south)
  • Ness County (west)


Unified School Districts

LaCrosse USD 395
Otis-Bison USD 403

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge