Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Sedgwick County, Kansas

Sedgwick County Education, Geography, and HistorySedgwick County, Kansas Courthouse

Sedgwick County is a county located in the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 498,365. Sedgwick County was created on February 26, 1867. The county seat is Wichita. The county is named in honor of Major General John Sedgwick (1813-1864).

Sedgwick County is part of the Wichita, KS Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Sedgwick County Name

The county is named for John Sedgwick, United States Army, Major-General of volunteers, killed in battle, May 9, 1864, at Spotsylvania, Virginia.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Sedgwick County History

Sedgwick County, in the southern part of the state, is 135 miles west of the Missouri line, 250 miles east of Colorado and is the second county north of Oklahoma. The territory of which it is comprised was included in Butler county until 1867, when Sedgwick was formed by act of the legislature. The description was as follows: "Commencing at the northwest corner of Butler county, thence south to the southwest corner of the same; thence west to the west line of range 4 west; thence north to the south line of township 22; thence east to the place of beginning." In 1872 four townships on the north of the west tier were given to Reno county, and two full tiers from the north were given to Harvey. The county was named in honor of John Sedgwick, a general of the Civil war, who was killed at Spottsylvania Court House, Va., in May, 1864.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,009 square miles (2,610 km2), of which 998 square miles (2,580 km2) is land and 12 square miles (31 km2) (1.2%) is water.

Sedgwick county is located in south central Kansas. The county is rolling prairie and parts of the county are level. Timber consist of a varieties of wood common to Kansas soil. The bottom lands make up 50 per cent of the area. The Arkansas river enters in the northwest and crosses the entire county southwest. The Little Arkansas enters in the north, flows south, joining the larger stream at Wichita. The north and south forks of the Ninnescah river enter and unite in the southwest, the main stream flowing southeast into Sumner county. Limestone, clay and gypsum are plentiful.


 The county has a strong agricultural economy and is home to numerous aircraft industries, earning the title for Wichita of "the airplane capital of the world." The Big and Little Arkansas rivers meet in downtown Wichita, the largest city in the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Harvey County (north)
  • Butler County (east)
  • Cowley County (southeast)
  • Sumner County (south)
  • Kingman County (west)
  • Reno County (northwest)


Unified School Districts

Wichita USD 259
Derby USD 260
Haysville USD 261
Valley Center USD 262
Mulvane USD 263
Clearwater USD 264
Goddard USD 265
Maize USD 266
Renwick USD 267
Cheney USD 268

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge