Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Trego County, Kansas

Trego County Education, Geography, and HistoryTrego County, Kansas Courthouse

Trego County is a county located in the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 3,001. Trego County was created on February 26, 1867. The county seat is WaKeeney. The county is named in honor of Edgar P. Trego, captain of Company H, 8th Kansas Infantry.

Etymology - Origin of Trego County Name

The county is named for Edward P. Trego, Captain of Company H, Eighth Kansas Infantry, killed September 19, 1863 at Chickamauga, Tennessee.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Trego County History

Trego County, in the western part of the state, is the third county south from the Nebraska line and the fourth east from Colorado. It is bounded on the north by Graham county, on the east by Ellis, on the south by Ness, and on the west by Gove. It was named in honor of Capt. Edgar P. Trego of the Eighth Kansas infantry. The first settler was B. O. Richards, who located at Coyote, near the present town of Collyer, about 1875 or 1876. During the year 1877 the following settlers located in the county: J. R. Snyder J. C. Henry, Harlow Orton, Earl Spaulding, J. K. Snyder, D. O. Adams, George Brown, George McCaslin and George Pinkham. The same year came the advance agents of a colony from Chicago, viz.: Mr. Warren, W. S. Harrison, George Barrell, F. O. Ellsworth, Thomas Peak and C. W. F. Street. The next year there was a rush of immigrants, most of whom were from Chicago and vicinity. The influx continued through the first half of 1879, the population reaching 3,500 by midsummer.

With a view to organizing the county a census enumeration was made and upon receiving the returns Gov. John P. St. John issued a proclamation, dated June 21, organizing the county. The town of Wakeeney was named as county seat

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 900 square miles (2,300 km2), of which 889 square miles (2,300 km2) is land and 10 square miles (26 km2) (1.1%) is water.

 Trego county is located in west Kansas. The the county is rolling, with some bluffs along the Saline river in the north. Bottom lands make up 12 per cent of the area. Timber consist of cottonwood, white-ash, box-elder, elm and hackberry. The Saline river enters in the northwest corner and flows east across the northern level of townships into Ellis county. Trego and Springer creeks are its principal branches from the south. The Smoky Hill river flows east across the southern portion. Big creek enters in the west and flows southeast into Ellis county. Magnesian limestone is plentiful and a very hard conglomerate stone exists in some areas. Native lime is abundant and chalk and coal have been found to some degree.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Graham County (north)
  • Rooks County (northeast)
  • Ellis County (east)
  • Ness County (south)
  • Gove County (west)


Unified School Districts

WaKeeney USD 208

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge