Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Wallace County, Kansas

Wallace County Education, Geography, and HistoryWallace County, Kansas Courthouse

Wallace County is a county located in the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 1,485. Wallace County was created on March 11, 1868. The county seat is Sharon Springs. The county is named for Brigadier general W.H.L. Wallace who was a veteran of the Mexican-American War and a casualty of the Battle of Shiloh.

Etymology - Origin of Wallace County Name

The county is named for General William H. L. Wallace, Commander of the Second Division at the Battle of Shiloh, who was fatally wounded April 10, 1862 at the battle of Shiloh.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

WallaceCounty History

Wallace County, one of the most western in the state, is in the third tier south from Nebraska. It is bounded on the north by Sherman county; on the east by Logan; on the south by Greeley and Wichita, and on the west by the State of Colorado. It was created in 1868 and named in honor of Gen. W. H. L. Wallace, a veteran of the Mexican war who died from wounds received in the battle of Shiloh, Tenn. The county first included all of the territory now comprised within Wallace and Logan and the boundaries were defined by the legislature as follows: "Commencing at the northwest corner of Gove county; thence west on the 2d standard parallel line to the west line of the State of Kansas; thence south on the west line of the state to the 3d standard parallel line; thence east on 3d standard parallel line to the west line of Gove county; thence north on said west line of Gove county to the place of beginning."

A fort, a town, and a county were named for General William H. L. Wallace who was fatally wounded April 10, 1862 at the battle of Shiloh

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 914 square miles (2,370 km2), of which 914 square miles (2,370 km2) is land and 0.05 square miles (0.13 km2) (0.01%) is water.

 Wallace county is located in west Kansas. The county is rolling with rough lands along the streams. Timber is scarce. The Smoky Hill river, which enters across the west line from Colorado, and its many branches form the water system

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Sherman County (north)
  • Logan County (east)
  • Wichita County (southeast)
  • Greeley County (south)
  • Cheyenne County, Colorado (west)
  • Kit Carson County, Colorado (northwest)


Unified School Districts

Wallace USD 241
Weskan USD 242

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge