Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Wichita County, Kansas

Wichita County Education, Geography, and HistoryWichita County, Kansas Courthouse

Wichita County is a county located in the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 2,234. Wichita County was created on March 20, 1873. The county seat is Leoti. The county is named for the Wichita Native Americans, who lived in the area.

Etymology - Origin of Wichita County Name

The county is named for the Wichita Native Americans, who lived in the area.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Wichita County History

Wichita County, in the western part of the state, is the second county east from the Colorado line and the fourth south from Nebraska. It is bounded on the north by Wallace and Logan counties; on the east by Scott; on the south by Kearny, and on the west by Greeley. It was created in 1873 and named for the Wichita tribe of Indians. The boundaries were defined as follows: "Commencing at the intersection of the east line of range 35 west with the 3d standard parallel; thence south along said range line to its intersection with the 4th standard parallel; thence west along said 4th standard parallel to where it is intersected by the east line of range 39 west; thence north along range line to its intersection with the 3d standard parallel; thence east to the place of beginning."

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 719 square miles (1,860 km2), virtually all of which is land.

 Wichita county is located in west Kansas. The county is rolling prairie with bluffs along Ladder creek. Bottom lands make up 3 per cent of the total area. There is no timber except for a few cottonwood trees that fringe the streams. Ladder creek enters in the northwest and flows southeast and east into Scott county. Two branches of White Woman creek cross the southern portion. Small amounts of chalk, gypsum and building stone are found.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Logan County (north)
  • Scott County (east)
  • Kearny County (south)
  • Hamilton County (southwest)
  • Greeley County (west)
  • Wallace County (northwest)


Leoti USD 467

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge