Kansas Counties
Kansas County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kansas Counties

Kansas has one hundred and five counties. Originally 33 counties were organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. The Chase County Courthouse in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas was built in 1873 and is the oldest operating courthouse in Kansas. As of January 1, 2009 Greeley County and the city of Tribune unified to form the Unified Government of Greeley County..

Wilson County, Kansas

Wilson County Education, Geography, and HistoryWilson County, Kansas Courthouse

Wilson County is a county located in the state of Kansas. Based on the 2010 census, the county population was 9,409. Wilson County was created on August 25, 1855. The county seat is Fredonia. The county is named for Colonel Hiero T. Wilson (1806-1892), settler, postmaster, and prominent citizen of Fort Scott.

Etymology - Origin of Wilson County Name

The is named for Colonel Hiero T. Wilson who lived in Fort Scott from September 1843. He was the first white person to settle there.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Wilson County History

Wilson County, the fifteenth on the list of the original 33 counties formed by the first territorial legislature, is located in the third tier of counties west from Missouri, and in the second tier north from Oklahoma. It is bounded on the north by Woodson county; on the east by Neosho; on the south by Montgomery, and on the west by Elk and Greenwood. The original boundaries as fixed by the legislature included all that is now Montgomery county, and extended west 24 miles, making it 24 miles square. The free-state legislature altered these boundaries, making them include an area 50 miles north and south by 24 wide. In the adjustment, which took place in 1867, the county assumed its present form.

This county was named in honor of Col. Hiero T. Wilson, a man of prominence in territorial days, who settled at Fort Scott in 1843.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 575 square miles (1,490 km2), of which 570 square miles (1,500 km2) is land and 4.7 square miles (12 km2) (0.8%) is water.

 Wilson county is located in east Kansas. The county is rolling prairie in the eastern portion, broken with mounds and bluffs in the west, and with timbered hills and canyons in the northwest. Bottom lands make up 20 per cent of the total area. Springs are plentiful. The principal river is the Verdigris, which enters near the northeast corner and flows southwest and south into Montgomery county. Fall river crosses the western border in the central part and flows southeast, emptying into the Verdigris near the southeast corner.  Limestone, sandstone, Portland cement, graystone, beds of clay and salt springs are abundant in different areas of the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Woodson County (north)
  • Allen County (northeast)
  • Neosho County (east)
  • Montgomery County (south)
  • Elk County (west)
  • Greenwood County (northwest)


Unified School Districts

Altoona-Midway USD 387
Neodesha USD 461
Fredonia USD 484

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge