Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Bath County, Kentucky

Bath County Education, Geography, and HistoryBath County, Kentucky Courthouse

Bath County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 11,591. Bath County was created on January 15, 1811. The county seat is Owingsville. The county is named for the Medicinal springs located within the county.

Bath County is included in the Mount Sterling, KY Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Lexington-Fayette-Richmond-Frankfort, KY Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Bath County Name

The county was named for the springs in the area that were thought to have medicinal value.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Bath County History

Bath county was formed in 1811. It is located in the Eastern Coal Field and Outer Bluegrass regions of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 590 to 1388 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 11,085 in a land area of 279.46 square miles, an average of 39.7 people per square mile. The county seat is Owingsville.

In 1932, an archaeological field survey observed fourteen archaeological sites in Bath County, including the Ramey Mound near Sharpsburg and multiple ancient burials near the Springfield Presbyterian Church.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 284 square miles (740 km2), of which 279 square miles (720 km2) is land and 5.2 square miles (13 km2) (1.8%) is water.

Bath county is located in northeast Kentucky. Part of Daniel Boone National Forest is located in this county. Cave Run Lake was built in the early 1970's and extends into Bath County.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Fleming County
  • East: Rowan County
  • Southeast: Menifee County
  • Southwest: Montgomery County
  • West: Bourbon County
  • Northwest: Nicholas County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge