Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Breathitt County, Kentucky

Breathitt County Education, Geography, and HistoryBreathitt County, Kentucky Courthouse

Breathitt County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 13,878. Breathitt County was created on February 8, 1839. The county seat is Jackson, Kentucky. Breathitt county is named for John Breathitt who was Governor of Kentucky from 1832 to 1834.

Etymology - Origin of Breathitt County Name

The county is named for John Breathitt (1786-1834), Kentucky's 11th governor.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Breathitt County History

Breathitt county was formed in 1839. It is located in the Eastern Coal Field region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 650 to 1600 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 16,100 in a land area of 495.19 square miles, an average of 32.5 people per square mile. The county seat is Jackson.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 495 square miles (1,280 km2), of which 492 square miles (1,270 km2) is land and 2.9 square miles (7.5 km2) (0.6%) is water.

Breathitt county is located in east Kentucky. The North and Middle Forks of the Kentucky River pass through the county as the main water sources. This county is located in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains in the Eastern Coal Field region.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Magoffin County
  • Southeast: Knott County; Perry County
  • Southwest: Owsley County
  • West: Lee County
  • Northwest: Wolfe County


Jackson independent schools

Jackson independent schools is a school district that educates students inside and outside the city limits of Jackson, Kentucky.

Jackson City School - a single K-12 facility.

Breathitt County Schools

Breathitt County Schools is another school district with an array of schools within the city limits of Jackson, Kentucky and throughout the county.

  • L.B.J. Elementary School - Jackson, Kentucky (Opened 1970)
  • Highland-Turner Elementary School - Canoe, Kentucky (Opened 1992)
  • Rousseau Elementary School (CLOSED 2013) - Rousseau, Kentucky
  • Marie Roberts-Caney Elementary School - Lost Creek, Kentucky (Expanded School Opened 1996)
  • Sebastian Middle School - Jackson, Kentucky (Opened 1975)
  • Breathitt County High School - Jackson, Kentucky (New School Opened 1982)

Private schools

  • Mount Carmel School - Vancleve, Kentucky
  • Oakdale Christian Academy - Jackson, Kentucky
  • Riverside Christian School - Lost Creek, Kentucky

Higher education

  • Lees College Campus of Hazard Community and Technical College (part of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System) - Jackson, Kentucky
  • Kentucky Mountain Bible College - Vancleve, Kentucky
  • Morehead State University Jackson campus - Jackson, Kentucky

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge