Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Calloway County, Kentucky

Calloway County Education, Geography, and HistoryCalloway County, Kentucky Courthouse

Calloway County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 37,191. The county was created in November 1822. The county seat is Murray. Calloway county is named for Colonel Richard Callaway, one of the founders of Boonesborough.

Calloway County comprises the Murray, KY Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Calloway County Name

Calloway county is named for Colonel Richard Callaway (1722-1780), one of the founders of Boonesborough. He was a representative of Kentucky County in the Virginia General Assembly.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Calloway County History

Calloway county was formed in 1823. It is located in the Jackson Purchase region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 359 to 640 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 34,177 in a land area of 386.25 square miles, an average of 88.5 people per square mile. The county seat is Murray. As of July 18, 2012 Calloway County is a moist county: the sale of alcohol in the county is prohibited, with the exception of the city of Murray.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 411 square miles (1,060 km2), of which 385 square miles (1,000 km2) is land and 26 square miles (67 km2) (6.3%) is water.

Calloway county is located in west Kentucky. The elevation in this county is 550 feet above sea level. Kentucky Lake is located in Calloway county.


Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Marshall County
  • Northeast: Trigg County
  • Southeast: Stewart County, Tenn.
  • South: Henry County, Tenn.
  • Northwest: Graves County


Calloway County is home to two public school systems, the Murray Independent School District and the Calloway County School District

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge