Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Carroll County, Kentucky

Carroll County Education, Geography, and HistoryCarroll County, Kentucky Courthouse

Carroll County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 10,811. The county was created in 1838. The county seat is Carrollton, Kentucky. Carroll county is named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton, the last living signer of the Declaration of Independence.

Etymology - Origin of Carroll County Name

The county is named for Charles Carroll (1737-1832), longest surviving and only Catholic signer of the Declaration of Independence.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Carroll County History

Carroll county was formed in 1838. It is located in the Outer Bluegrass region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 420 to 940 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 10,155 in a land area of 130.09 square miles, an average of 78.1 people per square mile. The county seat is Carrollton.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 137 square miles (350 km2), of which 129 square miles (330 km2) is land and 8.7 square miles (23 km2) (6.4%) is water.

Carroll county is located in north Kentucky. The county is located at the meeting of the Kentucky and Ohio Rivers. This county is the third-smallest county by area in Kentucky.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Switzerland County, Ind.; Gallatin County
  • Southeast: Owen County
  • South: Henry County
  • Southwest: Trimble County
  • Northwest: Jefferson County, Ind.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge