Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Casey County, Kentucky

Casey County Education, Geography, and HistoryCasey County, Kentucky Courthouse

Casey County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 15,955. The county was created in 1806. The county seat is Liberty. Casey county is named for Colonel William Casey, a pioneer settler who moved his family to Kentucky in 1779.

Etymology - Origin of Casey County Name

The county is named for Colonel William Casey (1754-1816), Virginia pioneer and settler in the Kentucky Green River area.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Casey County History

Casey county was formed in 1807. It is located in the Pennyrile and Outer Bluegrass regions of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 710 to 1789 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 15,447 in a land area of 445.61 square miles, an average of 34.7 people per square mile. The county seat is Liberty. It is the only Kentucky county entirely in the Knobs region. Casey County is home to annual 'Casey County Apple Festival', and is a prohibition or dry county. It is considered part of the Appalachian region of Kentucky.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 446 square miles (1,160 km2), of which 444 square miles (1,150 km2) is land and 1.5 square miles (3.9 km2) (0.3%) is water.

Casey county is located close to the center of Kentucky. It is the only Kentucky county entirely in the Knobs region. The highest point in Casey County is Green River Knob at 1,789 feet (545 m).

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Boyle County
  • Northeast: Lincoln County
  • Southeast: Pulaski County
  • Southwest: Russell County; Adair County
  • West: Taylor County
  • Northwest: Marion County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge