Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Clinton County, Kentucky

Clinton County Education, Geography, and HistoryClinton County, Kentucky Courthouse

Clinton County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 10,272. The county seat is Albany. The county was created in 1835. The county is named for DeWitt Clinton, the seventh Governor of New York.

Etymology - Origin of Clinton County Name

DeWitt Clinton (1769-1828), governor of New York; projector of the Erie Canal.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Clinton County History

Clinton county was formed in 1836. It is located in the Pennyrile region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 530 to 1780 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 9,634 in a land area of 197.46 square miles, an average of 48.8 people per square mile. The county seat is Albany.

Courthouse fires in 1864 and 1980 resulted in the destruction of county records.

The county is a prohibition or dry county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 205 square miles (530 km2), of which 197 square miles (510 km2) is land and 8.2 square miles (21 km2) (4.0%) is water.

Clinton county is located close to the center of Kentucky. The county is in the foothills of south central Kentucky, along the Tennessee line.


Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Russell County
  • Northeast: Wayne County
  • Southeast: Pickett County, Tenn.
  • Southwest: Clay County, Tenn.
  • Northwest: Cumberland County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge