Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Cumberland County, Kentucky

Cumberland County Education, Geography, and HistoryCumberland County, Kentucky Courthouse

Cumberland County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 6,856. The county was created in 1798. The county seat is Burkesville. Cumberland county is named for the Cumberland River, which in turn may have been named after the Duke of Cumberland or the English county of Cumberland.

Etymology - Origin of Cumberland County Name

Cumberland County is named after the Cumberland River which was named by surveyor and physician, Dr. Thomas Walker (1715-1794), as a tribute to the Duke of Cumberland


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Cumberland County History

Cumberland county was formed in 1799. It is located in the Pennyrile region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 510 to 1110 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 7,147 in a land area of 305.82 square miles, an average of 23.4 people per square mile. The county seat is Burkesville.

It was the first county in the United States to elect a female sheriff, Pearl Carter Pace.

Burkesville is the first city downstream from Wolf Creek Dam. There has been much recent concern about the dam's stability.

Cumberland County is a dry county, which means that the sale of alcohol is prohibited.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 311 square miles (810 km2), of which 305 square miles (790 km2) is land and 5.7 square miles (15 km2) (1.8%) is water.

Cumberland county is located close to the center of Kentucky. Major waterways include the Cumberland River and a small branch of Dale Hollow Lake which covers the southern end of the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Adair County; Russell County
  • Southeast: Clinton County
  • Southwest: Clay County, Tenn.; Monroe County
  • Northwest: Metcalfe County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge