Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Edmonson County, Kentucky

Edmonson County Education, Geography, and HistoryEdmonson County, Kentucky Courthouse

Edmonson County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 12,161. The county was created in 1825. The county seat is Brownsville. Edmonson county is named for Captain John "Jack" Edmonson (1764-1813), who was killed at the Battle of Frenchtown during the War of 1812.

Edmonson County is included in the Bowling Green, KY Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Edmonson County Name

Edmonson county is named for Captain John Edmonson (1764-1813), militia man, hero in the War of 1812. Captain Edmonson was one of those honored after the Battle of River Raisin.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Edmonson County History

Edmonson county was formed in 1826. It is located in the Pennyrile and Western Coal Field regions of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 412 to 900 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 11,644 in a land area of 302.62 square miles, an average of 38.5 people per square mile. The county seat is Brownsville. Most of Mammoth Cave National Park is within Edmonson county.

The sale of alcohol is currently prohibited in Edmonson County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 308 square miles (800 km2), of which 303 square miles (780 km2) is land and 5.1 square miles (13 km2) (1.7%) is water.

Edmonson county is located close to the center of Kentucky. Mammoth Cave National Park  and Nolin Lake are located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Hart County
  • Southeast: Barren County
  • Southwest: Warren County
  • West: Butler County
  • Northwest: Grayson County


There are currently four public schools operating as part of the Edmonson County School System. They are Kyrock Elementary (in the Kyrock community in northern Edmonson County), South Edmonson Elementary (near the Chalybeate community in southern Edmonson County), the Edmonson County Fifth/Sixth Grade Center and Edmonson County Middle/High School (both in Brownsville).

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge