Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Fleming County, Kentucky

Fleming County Education, Geography, and HistoryFleming County, Kentucky Courthouse

Fleming County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 14,348.The county was created on February 10, 1798. The county seat is Flemingsburg. Fleming county is named for Colonel John Fleming, an Indian fighter and early settler.

In 1998, the Kentucky General Assembly designated Fleming County as the Covered Bridge Capital of Kentucky.

Etymology - Origin of Fleming County Name

Fleming county is named for Colonel John Fleming (1735-1791), pioneer, settler and Indian fighter.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Fleming County History

Fleming county was formed in 1798. It is located in the Outer Bluegrass region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 590 to 1420 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 13,792 in a land area of 350.84 square miles, an average of 39.3 people per square mile. The county seat is Flemingsburg.

 It's a prohibition or dry county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 351 square miles (910 km2), of which 349 square miles (900 km2) is land and 2.8 square miles (7.3 km2) (0.8%) is water.

Fleming county is located in northeast Kentucky. This county is made up of beautiful rolling farmland.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Lewis County
  • Southeast: Rowan County
  • South: Bath County
  • West: Nicholas County
  • Northwest: Robertson County; Mason County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge