Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Franklin County, Kentucky

Franklin County Education, Geography, and HistoryFranklin County, Kentucky Courthouse

Franklin County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 49,285. Franklin County was created on December 7, 1794. The county seat is Frankfort, the state capital. The county is named for Benjamin Franklin (1706–1790), signer of the Declaration of Independence and United States Founding Father.

Franklin County is part of the Frankfort, KY Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Franklin County Name

Franklin county is named for Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790), printer, publisher, inventor, statesman, diplomat and scientist.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Franklin County History

Franklin county was formed in 1795. Franklin was the 18th Kentucky county in order of formation It is located in the Inner Bluegrass region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 455 to 930 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 47,687 in a land area of 210.46 square miles, an average of 226.6 people per square mile. The county seat is Frankfort. Frankfort is the capital of Kentucky.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 212 square miles (550 km2), of which 208 square miles (540 km2) is land and 4.3 square miles (11 km2) (2.0%) is water.

Franklin county is located close to the center of Kentucky. This county is located in the Bluegrass Region of Kentucky. There are rolling acres of bluegrass and farmland.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Owen County
  • Northeast: Scott County
  • Southeast: Woodford County
  • Southwest: Anderson County
  • West: Shelby County
  • Northwest: Henry County


The county is served by two public school districts: Franklin County Public Schools and Frankfort Independent Schools.

Franklin County Public Schools

This district takes in almost all of the county, including the majority of the city of Frankfort. It operates the following schools:

Bridgeport Elementary School (grades K-5)
Collins Lane Elementary School (grades K-5)
Early Childhood Education Center (grades K-1)
Elkhorn Elementary School (grades 2-5)
Hearn Elementary School (grades 2-5)
Peaks Mill Elementary School (grades 2-5)
Westridge Elementary School (grades K-5)
Bondurant Middle School (grades 6-8)
Elkhorn Middle School (grades 6-8)
Franklin County High School (grades 9-12)
Western Hills High School (grades 9-12)

Frankfort Independent Schools

This district serves an area roughly covering the Frankfort neighborhoods known as "downtown", South Frankfort (the vicinity of the state capitol building), and Bellepoint. It operates two schools:

Second Street School (grades K-6)
Frankfort High School (grades 7-12)

Private schools

Capital Day School (grades PreK-8)
Frankfort Christian Academy (grades K-12)
Good Shepherd Catholic School (grades PreK-8)


Kentucky State University

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge