Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Gallatin County, Kentucky

Gallatin County Education, Geography, and HistoryGallatin County, Kentucky Courthouse

Gallatin County, is a county in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 8,589. Gallatin County was created on December 14, 1798. The county seat is Warsaw. Gallatin county is named for Albert Gallatin, United States Secretary of the Treasury (1801–1814).

Gallatin County is included in the Cincinnati-Middletown, OH-KY-IN Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Gallatin County Name

Gallatin county is named for Albert Gallatin (1761-1849), Secretary of the Treasury, and United States Minister to France and England.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Gallatin County History

The county was formed on December 14, 1798. Gallatin was the 31st Kentucky county to be established. It was derived from parts of Franklin and Shelby counties. Later, parts of the county were pared off to create three additional counties: Owen in 1819, Trimble in 1836 and Carroll in 1838. Today Gallatin is one tenth of its original size. Its northern border is the Ohio River. It is located in the Outer Bluegrass region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 420 to 920 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 7,870 in a land area of 98.81 square miles, an average of 79.6 people per square mile. The county seat is Warsaw. It is the smallest county in the state.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 105 square miles (270 km2), of which 101 square miles (260 km2) is land and 3.5 square miles (9.1 km2) (3.3%) is water.

Gallatin county is located in north Kentucky. This county is located along the Ohio River across from Indiana and is the smallest county by area in Kentucky.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Boone County
  • Southeast: Grant County
  • South: Owen County
  • Southwest: Carroll County
  • Northwest: Switzerland County, Ind.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge