Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Grant County, Kentucky

Grant County Education, Geography, and HistoryGrant County, Kentucky Courthouse

Grant County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 24,662. Grant County was created on February 12, 1820. The county seat is Williamstown. The county is named for Colonel John Grant, who led a party of settlers in 1779 to establish Grant's Station, in today's Bourbon County, Kentucky.

Grant County is included in the Cincinnati-Middletown, OH-KY-IN Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Grant County Name

Grant county is named for Colonel John Grant (1754-1826), a pioneer, who led a party of settlers in 1779 to establish Grant's Station, in today's Bourbon County, Kentucky and a salt producer in the Licking Valley.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Grant County History

Grant County was established in 1820 from land taken from Pendleton County.  It is located in the Outer Bluegrass region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 530 to 1000 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 22,384 in a land area of 259.93 square miles, an average of 86.1 people per square mile. The county seat is Williamstown.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 261 square miles (680 km2), of which 258 square miles (670 km2) is land and 2.8 square miles (7.3 km2) (1.1%) is water.

Grant county is located in northeast Kentucky and located at the very top of the Bluegrass Region. This county is rich in natural beauty with many lakes, streams, ridges and rolling hills.


Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Kenton County
  • Northeast: Pendleton County
  • Southeast: Harrison County
  • South: Scott County
  • Southwest: Owen County
  • Northwest: Gallatin County; Boone County


Grant County has six schools: Crittenden Mt Zion (CMZ), Dry Ridge Elementary (DRE), Sherman Elementary (SES), Mason Corinth Elementary (MCE), Grant County Middle School (GCMS), Grant County High School (GCHS) and Williamstown Independent Schools (WES)- (WMS) - (WHS).

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge