Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Hardin County, Kentucky

Hardin County Education, Geography, and HistoryHardin County, Kentucky Courthouse

Hardin County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 105,543. The county was created December 15, 1792. The county seat is  Elizabethtown. The county is named for Colonel John Hardin, a Continental Army officer during the American Revolution and a brother of the Captain William Hardin who founded Hardinsburg.

Hardin County is part of the Elizabethtown-Fort Knox, KY Metropolitan Statistical Area, as well as the Louisville/Jefferson County- Elizabethtown-Madison, KY-IN Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Hardin County Name

Hardin county is named for Colonel John Hardin (1753-1792), Revolutionary War veteran and surveyor who served with George Rogers Clark.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Hardin County History

Hardin County was established in 1792 from land given by Nelson County. Hardin was the 15th Kentucky county in order of formation. It is located in the Pennyrile region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 383 to 1017 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 94,174 in a land area of 627.98 square miles, an average of 150.0 people per square mile. The county seat is Elizabethtown.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 630 square miles (1,600 km2), of which 623 square miles (1,610 km2) is land and 6.9 square miles (18 km2) (1.1%) is water.

 Hardin county is located close to the center of Kentucky. This county is the fourth-largest county by area in Kentucky.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Harrison County, Ind.
  • Northeast: Jefferson County; Bullitt County; Nelson County
  • Southeast: Larue County
  • South: Hart County
  • Southwest: Grayson County
  • West: Breckinridge County
  • Northwest: Meade County


Three public school districts operate in the county:

The Hardin County Schools
The Elizabethtown Independent Schools
West Point Independent School District

Five private schools also operate in the county, St. James Catholic School, Gloria Dei Lutheran School (LCMS), Elizabethtown Christian Academy, North Hardin Christian School, and Hardin Christian Academy.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge