Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Jackson County, Kentucky

Jackson County Education, Geography, and HistoryJackson County, Kentucky Courthouse

Jackson County is a county located in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 13,494. Jackson County was created on February 2, 1858.  The county seat is McKee. Jackson county is named for Andrew Jackson, seventh President of the United States.

Etymology - Origin of Jackson County Name

Jackson county is named for General Andrew Jackson (1767-1845), military hero and United States President.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Jackson County History

Jackson county was formed in 1858. It is located in the Eastern Coal Field region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 650 to 1633 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 13,495 in a land area of 346.33 square miles, an average of 39.0 people per square mile. The county seat is McKee.  It is a prohibition or dry county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 347 square miles (900 km2), of which 345 square miles (890 km2) is land and 1.3 square miles (3.4 km2) (0.4%) is water.

Jackson county is located close to the center of Kentucky. Daniel Boone National Forest is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Estill County
  • Northeast: Lee County
  • East: Owsley County
  • Southeast: Clay County
  • Southwest: Laurel County
  • West: Rockcastle County
  • Northwest: Madison County

Cities and Towns:


Elementary Schools: McKee Elementary, Sand Gap Elementary, and Tyner Elementary (Grades Preschool through 5) Tyner Elementary is the most populated elementary school in the county.

Middle Schools: Jackson County Middle School (Grades 6 through 8)

High Schools: Jackson County High School (Grades 9 through 12)

Private Institutions: Annville Christian Academy (up to grade 8), Outreach Christian Academy (up to grade 12)

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge