Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Leslie County, Kentucky

Leslie County Education, Geography, and HistoryLeslie County, Kentucky Courthouse

Leslie County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 11,310. Leslie County was created on March 29, 1878. The county seat is Hyden. Leslie County is named for Preston H. Leslie, Governor of Kentucky.

Etymology - Origin of Leslie County Name

Leslie county is named for Preston H. Leslie (1819-1907), Kentucky governor; territorial governor of Montana.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

LeslieCounty History

Leslie county was formed in 1878. It is located in the Eastern Coal Field region of the state.  In 2000 the county population was 12,401 in a land area of 404.03 square miles, an average of 30.7 people per square mile. The county seat is Hyden. The Frontier Nursing Service has its headquarters in Wendover, just south of Hyden. Leslie is a prohibition or dry county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 404 square miles (1,050 km2), of which 401 square miles (1,040 km2) is land and 3.6 square miles (9.3 km2) (0.9%) is water.

 Leslie county is located in east Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 757 to 2600 feet above sea level. Daniel Boone National Forest is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Perry County
  • Southeast: Harlan County
  • Southwest: Bell County
  • West: Clay County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge