Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Livingston County, Kentucky

Livingston County Education, Geography, and HistoryLivingston County, Kentucky Courthouse

Livingston County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,519. Livingston County was created on December 13, 1798. The county seat is Smithland. Livingston county is named for Robert R. Livingston, a member of the committee that drafted the Declaration of Independence.

Livingston County is part of the Paducah, KY-IL Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Livingston County Name

Livingston county is named for Robert R. Livingston (1746-1813), member of the Continental Congress and Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Minister to France, and one of the drafters of the Declaration of Independence.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Livingston County History

Livingston county was formed in 1799. It is located in the Pennyrile region of the state. The county was strongly pro-Confederate during the American Civil War and many men volunteered for the Confederate Army. In 2000 the county population was 9,804 in a land area of 316.08 square miles, an average of 31.0 people per square mile. The county seat is Smithland.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 342 square miles (890 km2), of which 313 square miles (810 km2) is land and 29 square miles (75 km2) (8.5%) is water.

 Livingston county is located in west Kentucky. The western border with Illinois is formed by the Ohio River. The elevation in the county ranges from 302 to 754 feet above sea level.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Hardin County, Ill.
  • Northeast: Crittenden County
  • Southeast: Lyon County
  • South: Marshall County
  • Southwest: McCracken County
  • West: Massac County, Ill.
  • Northwest: Pope County, Ill.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge