Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Madison County, Kentucky

Madison County Education, Geography, and HistoryMadison County, Kentucky Courthouse

Madison County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 82,916. Madison County was created on December 15, 1785. The county seat is Richmond. Madison county is named for Virginia statesman James Madison, who later became the fourth President of the United States.

Madison County is part of the Richmond-Berea, KY Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Lexington-Fayette-Richmond-Frankfort, KY Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Madison County Name

Madison county is named for James Madison (1751-1836), member of the Constitutional Convention and the fourth president of the United States.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Madison County History

Indian trader John Findley, Daniel Boone, and four others first came into the area that is Madison County in 1769 on a hunting and exploring expedition. The Transylvania Company, led by Judge Richard Henderson of North Carolina, purchased 20,000,000 acres of land west of the Appalachians (including present-day Madison County) from the Cherokee in 1774. Daniel Boone was hired by the company to cut a trail through the Cumberland Gap and establish a settlement on the Kentucky River. The settlement at Fort Boonesborough began in April of 1775.

Madison county was formed in 1786. It is located in the Eastern Knobs region of the state. In 2000 the county population was 70,872 in a land area of 440.68 square miles, an average of 160.8 people per square mile. The county seat is Richmond.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 443 square miles (1,150 km2), of which 437 square miles (1,130 km2) is land and 6.0 square miles (16 km2) (1.3%) is water.

Madison county is located close to the center of Kentucky. Wilgreen lake is located in this county. The elevation in the county ranges from 530 to 1660 feet above sea level.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Clark County
  • East: Estill County
  • Southeast: Jackson County
  • South: Rockcastle County
  • Southwest: Garrard County
  • Northwest: Jessamine County; Fayette County



Madison County is served by two school districts:

Madison County Schools currently consisting of 10 elementary, 5 middle, and 2 high schools.
Berea Independent Schools. currently consisting of 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high school.

Colleges and universities

Eastern Kentucky University, located in Richmond
Berea College, located in Berea
National College of Business & Technology, located in Richmond

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge