Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Magoffin County, Kentucky

Magoffin County Education, Geography, and HistoryMagoffin County, Kentucky Courthouse

Magoffin County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 13,333. Magoffin County was created on February 22, 1860. The county seat is Salyersville. Magoffin county is named for Beriah Magoffin who was Governor of Kentucky (1859-1862).

Etymology - Origin of Magoffin County Name

Magoffin county is named for Beriah Magoffin (1815-1885), judge, senator, Kentucky Governor, and lawyer.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Magoffin County History

Magoffin county was formed in 1860. It is located in the Eastern Coal Field region of the state. In 2000 the county population was 13,332 in a land area of 309.44 square miles, an average of 43.1 people per square mile. The county seat is Salyersville.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 309 square miles (800 km2), of which 308 square miles (800 km2) is land and 0.7 square miles (1.8 km2) (0.2%) is water.

Magoffin county is located in east Kentucky. This county is watered by Licking River. The elevation in the county ranges from 785 to 1640 feet above sea level.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Johnson County
  • Southeast: Floyd County; Knott County
  • Southwest: Breathitt County
  • West: Wolfe County
  • Northwest: Morgan County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge