Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Marshall County, Kentucky

Marshall County Education, Geography, and HistoryMarshall  County, Kentucky Courthouse

Marshall County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 31,448. Marshall County was created on June 1, 1842. The county seat is Benton. The county is named John Marshall (1755-1835).

Etymology - Origin of Marshall County Name

Marshall county is named John Marshall (1755-1835), founder of the United States system of constitutional law, including the doctrine of judicial review, defendant in the famous case, Marbury v. Madison (1803), which established the Supreme Court's right to state and expound constitutional law.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Marshall County History

The first settlers came about 1818, when the area was bought from the Chickasaw Indians as part of the Jackson Purchase. The Native Americans then moved to new lands west of the Mississippi River. Marshall County was named in honor of Chief Justice John Marshall, who had died shortly before the county's creation.

Marshall county was formed in 1842. It is located in the Jackson Purchase region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 302 to 550 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 30,125 in a land area of 304.89 square miles, an average of 98.8 people per square mile. The county seat is Benton.

 It was a dry county up until July 28, 2015, when residents voted for the county to go "wet". It is the only Purchase Area county to not border another state.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 340 square miles (880 km2), of which 301 square miles (780 km2) is land and 39 square miles (100 km2) (11%) is water.

Marshall county is located in west Kentucky. The county's northeastern border is formed by the Tennessee River and Kentucky Lake. Part of the Clarks River National Wildlife Refuge is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Livingston County
  • Northeast: Lyon County
  • East: Trigg County
  • South: Calloway County
  • Southwest: Graves County
  • Northwest: McCracken County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge