Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Menifee County, Kentucky

Menifee County Education, Geography, and HistoryMenifee County, Kentucky Courthouse

Menifee County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 6,306, making it the fifth-least populous county in Kentucky. Menifee county was created on May 29, 1869. The county seat is Frenchburg. The county is named for Richard Hickman Menefee, United States Congressman, although the spelling has changed.

Menifee County is part of the Mount Sterling, KY Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Lexington-Fayette-Richmond-Frankfort, KY Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Menifee County Name

Menifee county is named for Richard Hickman Menefee (1809-1841), lawyer, legislator and United States Congressman.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Menifee County History

Menifee County was formed on May 29, 1869, from portions of Bath, Montgomery, Morgan, Powell, and Wolfe counties. It is located in the Eastern Coal Field region of the state. In 2000 the county population was 6,556 in a land area of 203.90 square miles, an average of 32.2 people per square mile. The county seat is Frenchburg. It is a prohibition or dry county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 206 square miles (530 km2), of which 204 square miles (530 km2) is land and 2.3 square miles (6.0 km2) (1.1%) is water.

Menifee county is located in east Kentucky.  This county is mountainous and greatly forested. Much of the land is within Daniel Boone National Forest. Only about 10% of the county's land is in cultivated farms. The county is located in the foothills of the Cumberland Plateau. The elevation in the county ranges from 670 to 1428 feet above sea level.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Rowan County
  • East: Morgan County
  • Southeast: Wolfe County
  • Southwest: Powell County
  • Northwest: Montgomery County; Bath County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge