Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Oldham County, Kentucky

Oldham County Education, Geography, and HistoryOldham County, Kentucky Courthouse

Oldham County is a county located in the commonwealth of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 60,316. Oldham County was established on December 15, 1823. The county seat is La Grange.  Oldham county is named for Colonel William Oldham, a Revolutionary War officer.

Oldham County is part of the Louisville/Jefferson County, KY-IN Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Oldham County Name

Colonel William Oldham (1753-1791), soldier in the Revolutionary War, captain of the Kentucky militia.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Oldham County History

Oldham County was established on December 15, 1823 from parts of Henry, Jefferson, and Shelby Counties. The county was the 74th Kentucky county, and was named in honor of Colonel William Oldham of Jefferson County, a Revolutionary War officer. This county is located in the Outer Bluegrass region of the state.

Oldham County was a prohibition or completely dry county until January 2005 as the result of a 2004 'moist' vote, permitting sales of alcohol in restaurants that seat at least 100 patrons in which 70%+ of total revenue is derived from sales of food.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 196 square miles (510 km2), of which 187 square miles (480 km2) is land and 9.2 square miles (24 km2) (4.7%) is water. The elevation in the county ranges from 420 to 920 feet above sea level. In 2000 the county population was 46,178 in a land area of 189.19 square miles, an average of 244.1 people per square mile.

Oldham county is located close to the center of Kentucky. This county is the 13th smallest county in Kentucky. The county's northern border with Indiana is formed by the Ohio River.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Trimble County
  • East: Henry County
  • Southeast: Shelby County
  • Southwest: Jefferson County
  • Northwest: Clark County, Ind.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge