Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Powell County, Kentucky

Powell County Education, Geography, and HistoryPowell County, Kentucky Courthouse

Powell County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 12,613. The county was formed January 7, 1852. The county seat is Stanton. Powell county is named for Governor Lazarus W. Powell.

Etymology - Origin of Powell County Name

Lazarus W. Powell (1812-1867), Kentucky governor and senator.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Powell County History

Powell county was formed in 1852. This county is located in the Eastern Knobs and Eastern Coal Field regions of the state. In 2000 the county population was 13,237 in a land area of 180.14 square miles, an average of 73.5 people per square mile. The county seat is Stanton. The county is a prohibition or dry county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 180 square miles (470 km2), of which 179 square miles (460 km2) is land and 1.1 square miles (2.8 km2) (0.6%) is water. The elevation in the county ranges from 580 to 1440 feet above sea level.

Powell county is located in east Kentucky. This county is located at the foothills of the Eastern Appalachian Mountains and is home to such scenic natural wonders as Red River Gorge and the Natural Bridge.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Menifee County
  • Southeast: Wolfe County; Lee County
  • Southwest: Estill County
  • Northwest: Clark County; Montgomery County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge